Filing period closed for state, county offices

Wadena County will have primary for two commissioner’s races

The official candidate filing period for individuals interested in running for county, state and federal offices in Minnesota in 2016 closed May 31.

Wadena County will hold a primary election Aug. 9 in both commissioner districts up for election this year. 

Incumbent Jim Hofer, Staples, filed for commissioner in District 2. He is being challenged by Brian Hagen and Ralph Miller, both of Verndale. Miller previously served as commissioner in that district.

In Wadena County District 4 the incumbent, Rodney Bounds, chose not to run. Three candidates, all with Sebeka addresses, will vye for the seat - Ross Beaumont, Chuck Horsager and Murlyn Kreklau.

In Todd County three commissioner seats are up for election, but there will be no primary as two of the incumbents are running unopposed as of press time Tuesday. They are Barb Becker, Browerville, in District 1, and Rod Erickson, Long Prairie, in District 3. In District 5 incumbent Randy Neumann, Osakis, is being challenged by Delvin Durheim, Long Prairie. 

In Senate District 9 DFL candidate Jason Weinerman, Long Prairie, will run against incumbent Paul Gazelka, Republican, Nisswa.

In House District 9A the incumbent Mark Anderson is not running again. Megg Litts, DFL, Staples, is running against John Poston, Republican, Lake Shore. 

In House District 9B incumbent Ron Kresha, Republican, is being challenged by Dustin Simmonds, DFL. Both are from Little Falls. 

In Congressional District 7 two Republicans filed against incumbent Collin Peterson, DFL, Detroit Lakes. Dave Hughes, Karlstad, was endorsed by the Republican party. Amanda Hinson, Republican, Long Prairie, was also listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website as having filed for that seat.

In Congressional District 8 Stewart Mills, Republican, is challenging incumbent Rick Nolan, DFL. 

The filing period for candidates for Staples Motley School Board, United District Hospital Board, Staples City Council and Motley City Council is Aug. 2-16.

Municipal candidates must file with their municipal clerk. School district candidates must file with their school district clerk.Candidates for special districts, such as hospital or park districts, should contact the district’s office for information on the filing process.

The school board seats currently held by Roy DiGiovanni, Chad Longbella and Bryan Winkels will be up for election this year. 

For the City of Staples the mayor and four council positions will be elected. Chris Etzler is currently mayor. The four council seats are currently held by Doug Case, Mike Isenberg, Kevin Jenkins and Mary Theurer.

For the City of Motley the mayor and two council members wll be elected. Nancy Nieken is the mayor. The council seats are currently held by Steve Johnson and Pat O’Regan.

The United District Hospital Board has seven positions up for election. The precincts and the current board members are:

o City of Motley - Lana Hansen

o Villard Township - Barb Peterson

o Moose Lake Township - Linda Dietrich

o Meadow Brook Township - Bill Haehnel

o Member-at-Large - Bob Mueller

o Poplar Township - Don Sirucek

o Staples Township - Ron Storbakken.

Candidates can find information about filing for office, along with information on campaign finance, filing a campaign committee and fair campaign practices, at in the “Election Administration & Campaigns” section.


Advertising Deadlines

Deadline for advertisements and copy is Friday, noon.

Staples World

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 100 Staples, MN 56479 Telephone: (218) 894-1112 - Fax: (218) 894-3570 Toll Free: 1-888-894-1112 E Mail:;

Deadline: Friday, noon


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed